First time buyer

Sula

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello you lovely people. Just looking for a bit of advice. Taking my first step into buying a motorhome and looking at a - wait for it - 1999 Fiat Ducato Dethleff Globetrotter low line with only 41000 miles in the clock. Service history and all paperwork apparently. Described as in great condition and drives superb with no damp or rust. The price is £8500. Sounds good although 20 years old and many many extras with it. I'm going to see it. Is there any advice you can give me about what to ask, look out for?? I'm a complete novice in this respect!!! Any help great fully received as aim nervous!!

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
To be honest it sounds a bit cheap... If it is on fleabay it MIGHT be scam..
If you have seen it up close and it looks as described I reckon you could do a whole lot worse ! :-)

OP
OP
S

Sula

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for that Jaws. Haven't seen it yet but have spoken to the person who's selling it. He says he buys for the trade and didn't realise it was a left hand drive so has put it on eBay as well. Don't know where he bought it from but said it was in use until he did. Said the mileage can be verified by paperwork and welcomed AA/Rac inspection although they've told me they don't do them above 20 years old and this goes to the month so would have to find out the month of registration in 1999. Can view it tomorrow. This is nail biting as I've never spent this much money on any vehicle before let alone a camper which I want to meander around E

Bart

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Boxer L4H2 van build
Exp
Since 2016
The mileage is most likely genuine as we bought our 1st mh, with 11, 000 miles on it and it was 9 years old, the mileage was verified by previous mot tests and service paperwork.
Use your nose and check cupboards for damp with said nose :)