lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
Need to invest in a second cable as we gave our spare away with last van, I was thinking of just buying the plug and socket and making one myself. What cable do you recommend and where is best place to buy it.

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
I wonder if the individual parts will cost as much less than a mass produced EHU cable.
But it is a simple assembly task.

Are you making one or two at different lenghts?

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
ball park price Plug
" " " Socket

cable price I didn't find quickly

edit: eventually: 1.5mm2
2.5mm2

But neither are blue/orange coloured :eek:

edit: looking at the cable prices, you'll need to find a shop that will sell by the meter rather than a reel.

Last edited:
Sep 15, 2018
Funster No
MH
Self build
Exp
Since 2009
I used blue arctic cable, it is a lot easier to coil, as it is not as stiff as the orange cable

PJGWiltshire

Free Member
Mar 11, 2013
Arundel
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
since 2009
If you are going down the DIY route, may I suggest you make two sets up one around 10m and the other 15m. As we know the standard bought cable is 25m in length. I don't know about you but I have on very few occasions needed a full 25m So you spend time unrolling and laying out a great length than you need. By having the two lengths I pick and choose which would be ideal, When needed to go the full 25m joining both together gets you there.

This method saves having loads of cable running around.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
Do you have a waterproof cover for the join?
I forget what that part name is....

your link is for non waterproof connectors, I prefer the ones with glanded cable entries, virtually submersible