E-bikes - which one? (1 Viewer)

Jul 20, 2017
Epsom, Surrey
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
We are looking buy an electric bike but they are all so heavy. Can anyone recommend a suitably light e-bike - with removable battery for recharging when we are on the move - for me? It will need to be a step through or with a low bar and light enough to,lift onto our bike rack on the back of our Bessacarr E462?

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Unless you are prepared to spend many thousands on a carbon one the lightest you will get is around 18-20kg but most are getting on for 25kg.
As with any bike you need to ride them to find out what suits you too many variables for one that fits all. Our Scotts weigh 24kg, fine when riding but a bit of a pain when pushing them around town centres .

Upvote 0
May 23, 2013
Not on the Coast East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B504
Exp
Since 2013
What sort of riding are you thinking about doing ? Road, off-road, Mtn biking or generally potting around could affect you choices.

Ribble have some bikes around the 14kg mark which use the fazua system so lightweight but not as much range as the Bosch or shimano systems where as mtn bikes Need to be heavily to cope with the terrain and the motors.

Upvote 0

ManTheVan

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 11, 2020
South Devon, UK
Funster No
MH
Rapido C class
Exp
Yottie convert
We are looking buy an electric bike but they are all so heavy. Can anyone recommend a suitably light e-bike - with removable battery for recharging when we are on the move - for me? It will need to be a step through or with a low bar and light enough to,lift onto our bike rack on the back of our Bessacarr E462?
Look for a used Brompton (or treat yourself hugely to a new one) then convert it to a e-bike with a Swytch kit or similar. It’s a very simple and easy process and you end up with a very light, compact and comfortable bike.

Upvote 0