Ducting length? (1 Viewer)

vantastic

Free Member
Jun 25, 2019
Funster No
MH
Crafter xlwb
I've installed a Truma 4e and I'm currently running my ducting. There is one length in particular I'm a little bit worried about. It's the longest run by bar at about 5m and it has several 90 degree bends. I'm trying to get an understanding of maximum length and maximum number of bends.

This run will require me to drill through a couple of panels I really don't want holes in unless the duct is going to go through so I can't easily test this before committing.

The duct is going to the sleeping area so keeping it a small bit cooler than the rest of the van is ok but I also don't wan't to lose most of the heat in the duct.

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
I am no expert on Truma but I can tell you that the approx 3mtr run to the front of our van means the air is decidedly cool and has a pathetic airflow.

Sorry I have no idea how many bends it has along its length.

OP
OP
V

vantastic

Free Member
Jun 25, 2019
Funster No
MH
Crafter xlwb
Ooh, 3m and cold air? That's not ideal.
I may have to significantly change my plans in that case.
Are the ducts insulated?

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
Ooh, 3m and cold air? That's not ideal.
I may have to significantly change my plans in that case.
Are the ducts insulated?

I just had a quick look but I can't see them.

It's a IH PVC so I suspect not. :(

Jan 29, 2017
Gloucestershire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Champ H621
Exp
15yrs
Our longest lengths must be about 5m using what looks like 3" duct. When the fan is running at slow speed there is not a lot coming out the furthest end and most of the heat has been dissipated but when the fan runs harder it is a quite useful amount of warm air.
I should ring truma technical and ask them alternatively you could try to work it out from the back pressure figues for the duct itself.