Drive Away Awning (1 Viewer)

Feb 12, 2024
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato
I might be sounding thick here but i'm new to drive away awnings and a little confused with the connection.
I've seen one video where they attached a plastic figure 8 to the awning channel, then attach the material drive away to that figure 8 runner and then attach another figure 8 the material drive away and THEN attach the awning to the latest figure of 8... phew!
...and then obviously seen the video where they attach the material drive away directly to the awning rail and then attached the figure 8 runner and then attach the awning itself.

So is there an advantage of either...and when you detach the awning to pop out for the day, do you leave 'whatever' attached the the vans awning rail?

Yeah i know, a newbie :)

faraway

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 10, 2016
Kent
Funster No
MH
Chausson Flash 10
Exp
Getting better
Not sure which awning or MH you have, but see if this video helps with the basics. you should only need 2, not 4, figure 8's.

• Nice One!
Reactions: f6c
OP
OP
Outdoorrambo
Feb 12, 2024
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato
Not sure which awning or MH you have, but see if this video helps with the basics. you should only need 2, not 4, figure 8's.

Aha, so attach figure 8 to awning, other side of figure 8 to driveaway awning strip and then drive away awning strip to van awning runner, thank you 😊

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Using the figure of 8 system means it is easier to attach and detach for going out for the day.