Downsizing from Motorhome to Small PVC (1 Viewer)

Giddy Lynn

Free Member
Oct 27, 2015
Wakefield, West Yorks
Funster No
MH
T-620 Ford Tribute
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi folks
It's been a while since I have been on here due to other commitments. I have had my motorhome Autotrail Tribute Tracker T620 Sport (2014) for over 3 years and loved it, however, since non of my family enjoy the pleasures of motor-homing (I know hard to belief there are people that don't) so decided to go small. I have been off driving it on my own without a problem but I have now decided that I want to downsize to a 2 berth PVC under 6' metres due to the fact I like going down country lanes and don't want the worry of getting stuck.

I went to Harrogate Motorhome show and I was looking at Camper vans/small PVC. I came across a Company called Leisure Drive based at Bolton, Lancashire (previously called Manchester Motor Caravan Company), which do conversions. Has anybody purchased from them and do they have good customer service? They have been going for 50 years and in the past MMM have done features on them (but not sure if Leisuredrive paid as an advert for it).

The vehicle I particularly like is the Ford Transit Occasion LWB (5.49m) with the added bonus of a cassette toilet and kitchen area (review on Out & About website). They can find me a vehicle a couple of years old and convert it for me. The warranty would be 2 years Gold Mechanical breakdowns service and 6 years for the conversions side of it. I love Wildax but out of my price range which is £35,000.

Really appreciate your input and any advice on what to look out for in regards to PVC and dealers etc.,

GPW

Free Member
Feb 23, 2019
Cambridge UK
Funster No
MH
Globescout Plus
Exp
Slight to minor!
Wildax are a great make, some of the most practical designs I've ever seen. I don't think they are that expensive but out of my range, my budget was £40k with a little stretch, not £50k with stretch.