Combined car and camper insurance? (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Does anyone on here combine car insurance with van insurance?

Both are due and obviously it always pays to shop around and consider various options. And at my age it is especially prudent as insurance is so costly, although prices are coming down slightly as I move slowly closer to the big 3 0.

Much to my horror moving from sunny Wales to rural England and taking one step down the career ladder (much less stressful job now) was enough for them to add more than £160 to my car insurance renewal!

Anyway...

My friend has told me he insures his car and van on one policy type called a "mini fleet" and saves himself a not unsubstantial number of folding beer tokens. I've been looking for that online and it only seems to be an option for people with businesses (so far as I can see anyway). Now he has a business, so perhaps that's how he's managed it. I don't have a business of my own. I wondered what people on here do. Car and van separate or together etc?

And as I understand it I can't use my no claims built up in the car for the van?

Christoph

Free Member
Apr 9, 2016
Lytham
Funster No
MH
VW California
Exp
Since 2014
Just tried that as car and motorhome policies both due. In the end it worked out much cheaper to do both individually with different companies.

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I insured both the car and the van today, on one policy, with Adrian Flux. £900! Ouch. 🤕

I only saved about £75 by insuring them together, but on the plus side the van is insured properly as a conversion and includes the value of the conversion I am doing.

Aug 5, 2018
Berkshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
You could try LV. I have a car and mh on the same policy There is no NCD within the mh part of the cost...just a flat premium.

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex