Jun 25, 2017
Hereford
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I will be a newbie
Hi,
I'm new to this site so am just finding my feet. We saw a Hymer 6 berth motorhome yesterday which we really loved. It's bitter than what we wanted as there is only two of us and our travelling Staffie but we instantly fell in love with it. We have asked for a new MOT to be carried out. There is a problem with two windows at the back. Both windows have cracked. They are resin Windows and the owner has glued them temporarily.

I'm just a bit concerned how the windows cracked. The owner couldn't explain and he seemed a very genuine guy. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you Mich

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Providing the frames are ok I cant see much problem changing just the clear part of the window.

Gut feeling is very often the thing to go with :D

Upvote 0

Anthea M

Free Member
Deceased RIP
Oct 18, 2015
Sheffield
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2009
have you seen the sale section on the forum a nice Mobil for sale if the Hymer falls through.?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jun 30, 2011
Barnard Castle, UK
Funster No
MH
Concorde Concerto
Exp
Since 2007
Instantly falling in love with a van, particularly your first buy can be a disaster.

There are loads of things to check, loads, you need to look for the list on here.

2 windows need replacing, that may just be the start, take someone with you if possible who knows a thing or 2 about vans.

Firstly, get on the floor and look underneath from the rear wheels backwards, check the condition carefully, Hymer use a wonderful wall construction and then let themselves down by using a cheap 2 bit chipboard floor covered in a cheap 2 bit black goo, I have seen loads of rotten floors, check carefully. Have you a link to the van or have you already bought it?

Upvote 0

Falcon 269

Free Member
Jul 11, 2013
Melton Mowbray, UK
Funster No
MH