broadband usage

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Ambilkate, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6,447
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +14,097
    Bt have emailed to say we are reaching our limit for the month. we do not download music or films. We come on fun everyday check emails ect have been using skype a bit talking to friends does skype use a lot, if so would it be better just talking without vidieo on. not very techi so appreciate input.

    Kate x
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2011
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Ratings:
    +342
    Use skype without video - video uses a LOT more bandwidth than voice :Smile:
     
  3. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,832
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Ratings:
    +14,172
    Video does use a lot of bandwidth. :cry:
     
  4. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,360
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +27,222
    Is your wi-fi password protected.....are all your neighbors downloading films by piggy-backing yours?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. beachcaster

    beachcaster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    east sussex
    Ratings:
    +3,178
    Or you could change to a real unlimited provider...........sky have always been good and very cheap if you use other services as well.

    barry
     
  6. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6,447
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +14,097

    HOW DO YOU protect wifi password ?????:Doh:
     
  7. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6,447
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +14,097

    tied in with a contract at moment.
     
  8. Hayleylulu

    Hayleylulu Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,391
    Location:
    Full timing in the van
    Ratings:
    +3,882
    IF you catch them give them 2 black eyes :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  9. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,477
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,148
    Have a look at your router instructions, it should all be in there. I cant remember how to do it unfortunately.

    Peter
     
  10. Hayleylulu

    Hayleylulu Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,391
    Location:
    Full timing in the van
    Ratings:
    +3,882
    You had me worried i thought it said bondage:winky::winky:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  11. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6,447
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +14,097

    Should have gone to specsavers :Eeek:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,841
    Location:
    UK / Javea Spain
    Ratings:
    +3,785
    If you are using a BT router, and you probably are, it came with a passcode that you would have had to put into your computer when you first installed the BT software and set the contract up. If you prompted your computer to remember it, you will have forgotten that you did this bit of security. At least I hope that is the case! Jane :Smile:
     
  13. motorhomelover

    motorhomelover Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,719
    Location:
    The world
    Ratings:
    +616
    BT are a rip off we went over to virgin media much better than BT and cheaper
     
  14. motorhomelover

    motorhomelover Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,719
    Location:
    The world
    Ratings:
    +616
    phone BT and they should tell you how to password you WiFi sounds like you have been hit by others using your internet connection
     
  15. Ambilkate

    Ambilkate Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6,447
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +14,097
    thanks Jane,
    Yes we did all that, well Bill did so we are secure so it must be skype then. I have had a new phone which when at home i do connect to my wi fi instead of using my phone broadband. I do have bbc news on that and dailymail so i suppose i could be creeping up the useage. I dont download films or music so thought we would be ok.
     
  16. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,796
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    Ratings:
    +8,247
    I am on sky now started with free broadband 2meg

    Trouble is we went over that 2months running

    We are now unlimited at £7.50 a month :thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. tony_g

    tony_g Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Nuneaton. Only when I have to.
    Ratings:
    +236
    and faster
     
  18. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7,035
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Ratings:
    +14,962
    We switched to Sky for the free broadband earlier this year after having problems with TalkTalk and assumed the 2gb a month on their free BB would be enough, particularly as we never used anything like that on the dongle whilst away. Hmm wishful thinking! We've now been moved up to unlimited with Sky after breaching the limit, and charged £7.50 for the privilege.

    We don't download anything like films or music, the usual software updates, read FUN, emails, the Daily Mail (well, someone has to admit it), all the usual stuff so I wonder how much we are using. :Sad:
     
  19. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,317
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    You can get unlimited usage on BT (at a price) its what we use at home.We use a T-Mobile dongle when away.

    My stepson uses Sky but is not impressed, it seems to go down frequently. It's probably a local thing.
     
  20. callumwa

    callumwa

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Ratings:
    +4,521
    We have totally BT unlimited broadband at £9.99 per month. Each year for the last 3 years we say we will leave if they don't do some price matching when the 12 months contract expires.
    They then reduce the price, it's actually getting cheaper every year.:thumb:

    We are happy with speed and connection.
     
Loading...

Share This Page