best site to book ferry or tunnel to france? (1 Viewer)

JimboT

Free Member
Nov 6, 2013
Welwyn Garden City
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
need to go to france
depart on thursday 29th about 20:00 or Friday 30th 06:30am
Have an event to go to in france
Return Sunday 22:30
The shorter time better
7.2m motorhome
Thanks
Jim

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
In my experience with ferries it's a toss up between the CCC's Carefree Travel Service (if you're a member) and going direct through either the P&O or DFDS website. It varies according to various things.

DFDS like motorhomes to be 7m max before they start charging more, but nobody stands on the ramp with a tape measure, so to my mind 7.2m is 7m rounded down :)

Gorse Hill

Free Member
Feb 2, 2013
Stretford
Funster No
MH
Burnster Ixeo IT 734
Exp
I checked to go 5th July on tunnel which was twice the cost ÂŁ240 against ÂŁ119 for ferry

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
You're talking about June I assume?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

treetops1

Free Member
Feb 25, 2013
yorkshire/ lincolnshire.
Funster No
MH
Sold last van-
Exp
a long time,since 1996
P&O Ferries. 08001300030(?direct tell them when and they will give you a price 7mts xHight they will ask. If it's just over 3mts call it 3mts

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
I checked to go 5th July on tunnel which was twice the cost ÂŁ240 against ÂŁ119 for ferry

You have just reminded me to book the tunnel for our end of season jaunt in September /October.
The closer you book the travel dates the more expensive it becomes.

treetops1

Free Member
Feb 25, 2013
yorkshire/ lincolnshire.
Funster No
MH
Sold last van-
Exp
a long time,since 1996