Autotrail imala 730 (1 Viewer)

Dec 3, 2007
bristol
Funster No
MH
fiat autotrail imala 730
Exp
since 2005
Hi all we have got a new van (imala 730) and was wondering if anyone has had a motor cycle/ scooter rack fitted recently, our scooter is 110 kg.

RowleyBirkinQC

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 20, 2014
Dazed & Confused
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2007
I’m no expert, but you may need to verify you have the available payload and rear axle loading available to take the additional weight of rack plus scooter relative to rear overhang? I think somewhere on here there may be details of how to calculate load relative to the size of the rear overhang (cantilever effect?j etc.
There are also tow bar mounted hybrid racks/trailers which are rigid and have caster wheels (remain straight/in line with vehicle when reversing) to help take the majority of the scooter/motorbike weight from the chassis, such as the Easy Lifter Hydratrail.
I’m sure someone here far better equipped than I to help will interject soon to provide guidance.

Edit: this may help - https://www.motorhomefun.co.uk/foru...ck-anyone-drive-with-one.135974/#post-1971381

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

Blue Knight

Free Member
Aug 7, 2017
Durham
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
Hi all we have got a new van (imala 730) and was wondering if anyone has had a motor cycle/ scooter rack fitted recently, our scooter is 110 kg.

Hi John,

I've done a few calculations for you. If your Autotrail Imala 730 (if registered at 3.5T) has already got a tv, awning, solar panel and a tow bar fitted then once you add a few extra kg's to the MIRO weight (to offset for the variation in building materials) then you may only have around 149kg remaining for water, passengers, food, equipment, clothes, pets and motorbikes etc.

Cheers,

Andrew

Last edited:
OP
OP
jointerjohn
Dec 3, 2007
bristol
Funster No
MH
fiat autotrail imala 730
Exp
since 2005