Another 12v fault, seem to be a few on here at the moment.

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Encantador, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +349
    Arrived at Chester Thursday, plugged TV in bedroom into cig socket, no power. Pressed all fuses, power came on, great, sorted. Watched TV then unplugged TV, next day when plugged back in, no power again.

    Checked fuses, the only mention of TV on fuse board is a 10amp which says TV socket / hob ignition. Hob ignition is working fine, so unlikely to be fuse. Checked all fuses, all look ok.

    Had dealer fit outside power / aerial socket when we purchased the MH, never used it, it is just below bedroom window dropped TV lead through window and no power to that one either. Because of the location I assume they took the power and aerial feed from the ones in the bedroom.

    I have removed the face plate from the bedroom socket and cables seem tight. I can just see a black pencil with object with a silver end, just wondering if this might be a fuse holder of some kind. Should there be a fuse there?

    I can't get at it without removing the front plate which risks losing the cables when detached from plate, so don't want to go there if there is nothing inside that might be the problem.

    The only other 12v socket is in a cupboard on the other side where the TV aerial is situated and that is working fine.

    Any help/ advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  2. f6c

    f6c Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,861
    Location:
    gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    Sorry Steve cannot help you.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,543
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,973
    Just a Thought. Did you TEST the fuses or just a visual check?. I chased a 12v fault for ages before I went back and Tested a fuse only to find it was "blown" It looked OK.

    Pete
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2015
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +349
    Thanks for the replies.

    I changed the fuse that mentions 'TV socket' the rest I visually checked.
    I would have assumed that both TV sockets, the faulty one and the working one in the TV aerial cupboard (excluding the one fitted outside) would be on the same fuse.

    I am hoping what I can see behind the panel is another sort of fuse, if not, presumably it could be a wiring problem, which could be anywhere.

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  5. Polar bear

    Polar bear Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +253
    Is the fuse the correct value for the equipment you are using
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +349
    Thanks for the reply.

    No idea, but have not had a problem with it in the last 2 years, using the same equipment.

    Steve
     
Loading...

Share This Page