AiLi Battery Monitor as an affordable alternative to Victron BMV (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I have been looking at a way to monitor the battery, which will become important when I install higher power items like my fridge. The easiest way for me would be with a percentage as I can never remember what voltage equates to what state of charge level and there is also the complication of power coming in and going out affecting the voltage reading. It's just complicated. Glancing at a percentage would be so much easier.

I've seen a lot of the youtubers using Victron BMVs. These seem to cost £130 - £180, depending on the model.

Digging deeper I found a few lesser known youtubers using and installing something that looks remarkably similar in functionality, without the bluetooth of Victron for monitoring via your phone. The alternative is the AiLi battery monitor. These are a fraction of the cost at just £48.

This comes with a shunt rated to 350 amps, so there would be no trouble installing a big invertor, if that's what I decide. The only thing I can see that it doesn't have that the Victron does is that the AiLi cannot send the data to your phone and I don't care about that.

Before hitting the buy button I wondered if anyone here actually has one and if they rate it?

Video:

Amazon:
Amazon product ASIN B07CTKMLVD

Bobby-gg

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 28, 2020
Northumberland
Funster No
MH
Ducato IH pvc
Exp
Since 2010
I can't comment on that exact model, although there's plenty on YouTube reviews, but I did have another similar but cheaper one and it was awful, it just wasn't reliable enough to trust - I've since fitted a bmv-712 and wished that I'd just done than in the first place, it just works!
The cheaper bmv-700 doesn't have the Bluetooth functionality I believe if you do require it

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH