Free Member
Jul 2, 2017
Durham
Funster No
MH
VW
Exp
Im a Newbie
I'm sure this question has been asked a million times before but i'm new to the camper van world. My requirements are spend up to 18k to accommodate me and the missus, I want something where we can enjoy relative comfort. In two years I'll be retiring so I will have more time to travel a little further.
motorbikes and cycling are my thing, so a vehicle that could accommodate both would be great. I like the idea of finding a base for a few days and not having to drive the MH into local towns, which had even had me thinking of a 5th wheel at one point. Cheers in advance Steve

Jan 28, 2008
Dovercourt, Harwich, UK
Funster No
MH
Renalt burstner
Exp
7 years campers before that
good luck with your search two points i will mention regarding carrying a motor bike a lot of garages in motor homes have very low weight limits on the floor so just because the garage is big enough doesnt mean it will carry a bike
also gross vehicle weight and axle loadings need to be taken into account a bike in a rear garage can put a lot of weight on the rear axle if the bike is any size you may need to consider towing a trailer for the bike

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TerryL

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 5, 2010
North East
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
As you're posting in the Fulltimers section, I assume you're looking to go full-time. You've therefore got a lot of other questions to answer before you find an "ideal" van.

Your licence is probably okay for over 3.5t so first off, how big a vehicle do you think you'll be comfortable driving? What kind of layout are you thinking about. Then think that last one again - it's THE most important decision in a van purchase. Once you've decided on size you can then think about carrying your bikes - an internal garage or will you need a trailer?