Advice please - found a potential motorhome (1 Viewer)

In the Pink

Free Member
Sep 19, 2018
Surrey/Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B564
Exp
Complete Novice
Good morning Funsters
I am looking to buy a Hymer Exsis SK and they are few and far between. I have found one that I am potentially going to view in Dorset.

It is a 2005, Fiat 2.0 litre Jtd, 32000kgs GVW with 43,000 miles on the clock.

From previous posts on the forum the advice is don't worry about high mileage, that's what they are built for, better the motorhome is used and not sat around.
If the mileage is genuine, should I be worried it has not been used that much??
The seller says
'We are the 2nd owners and have had the Exsis since 2010. Most years we go away at least once for approx 4 weeks (mostly to France) and then have the occasional short break'

Your thoughts/advice would be appreciated.

Thank you and have a good day

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
Take a damp meter and walk away if any readings are over 20%
Check all the paperwork especially Habitation checks.

If you do not understand how a motorhome works or never had one before - take someone who does. They are complicated bits of kit and some replacement parts are eye-watering expensive.

Low or high mileage not really a problem if it has been cared for and has regular serving. Have they got all the service invoices since 2010. Don't rely on stamps in the book.

I would post the advert and let people comment, someone might know the van.

Happy hunting (y)

Upvote 0
Jun 30, 2011
Barnard Castle, UK
Funster No
MH
Concorde Concerto
Exp
Since 2007
Check service history, cam belt change, does it run well? Do you know much about engines, mechanics etc or can you take someone with you who does?
some on here will say unless it's done 10 thousand miles a year then walk away, I disagree, it may still have been well looked after with low mileage.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

mfw

Banned