A question about lights and switches and splicing into cables. (1 Viewer)

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
you need to move the right hand puck connections to the far left near the left puck then put the puck switch in the positive feed to the pucks..

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
i think your diagram needs a bit of a :unsure:rehash....

This better?

lights 2.jpg

Would you just move the switch so the splicing in for the reading lamps is before the puck switch or would you wire it totally differently? How would you do it? I'm very keen to learn from the more experienced!

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
looks electrically correct , i would keep the switch separated as you have drawn it. I dont know what wattage is likely to be drawn if all lights were on so you may want to look at the size of the cable from the fuse box as that is carrying everything

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Thanks Phil.

They are all LED lights so very low consumption.

The reading lights are 3W each, which is 0.25A on 12V. 0.25A X 4 = 1 A. The puck lights are 0.2A X 2 = 0.4 A.

Total 1.4 Amps for everything on the bed system.

Using this cable size calculator (https://tinyurl.com/y2jf6q6e) and putting in 2% loss, 12V, 1.4 amps I can use 2.5mm cable for up to 10 meters cable length.

I was going to use 6mm because I have some. But I might buy some smaller wire to make running it easier. Perhaps 3mm? Open to ideas / suggestions though, as always.

Jan 22, 2017
Bristol
Funster No
MH
DAF LF Conversion
Exp
Since 2013
Would you just move the switch so the splicing in for the reading lamps is before the puck switch or would you wire it totally differently? How would you do it? I'm very keen to learn from the more experienced!