A question about lights and switches and splicing into cables. (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Lets say I have two puck lights wired in parallel in the ceiling, which come on via one switch.

I then have a pair of wall mounted reading lights with their own switches built into the bases.

Could I splice into the positive and negative wires running to the puck lights (using a scotch lock for example) to power the reading light?

Could the reading light then be switched on while the ceiling lights are switched off and vice versa?

Thanks in advance for answering what must be another of my obvious questions! I hope everyone is keeping well with everything that's going on. Working on my van while the pub is closed is keeping me sane (as I have ever been :tounge: ). I've been building draws today. I'll not be doing that again in a hurry! Draws are hard. :giggler:

Apr 6, 2019
Eye, Peterborough, UK
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
FourWinds Windsport 6.8L V10
It may depend on how the existing lights are wired. Will power reach the reading lights if the main light is powered off?

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
It may depend on how the existing lights are wired. Will power reach the reading lights if the main light is powered off?

Nothing is pre-existing. This is how I plan to light the back of my van, above my bed. I’ve not installed any lights yet.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Sep 29, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis
Exp
20 years
I always use scotch locks.

Much quicker and easier and as long as they are accessible, I don’t see the issue.

Sorry, I know some people hate them. ☹️

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Lets say I have two puck lights wired in parallel in the ceiling, which come on via one switch.