12v Cab Socket not working

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Dogsense, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. Dogsense

    Dogsense Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +129
    Help Please from all you cleaver Funsters.
    Fiat Ducato 2012, 12v Cab Power Socket (not the cigar lighter) stopped working,.
    Checked 15A Fuse and it's OK. What else can be the problem?
     
  2. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,714
    A loose wire or replace the fuse again sometimes look ok but have blown, test the fuse with a meter. Pete
     
  3. Dogsense

    Dogsense Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +129
    Thanks Peter, I swopped fuses but still no power in the socket.
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,874
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +35,124
    Are you 100% sure of it being the right fuse ? Check all fuses.
     
  5. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,427
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +53,006
    How are you testing the socket? If you are plugging something in it may be the fuse in the plug, it will have one, test with a meter to a good earth. :)
     
  6. CWH

    CWH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    4,263
    Location:
    under a wand'rin' star
    Ratings:
    +35,467
    Sorry, can't help, but can sympathise - we blew all 4 12 amp sockets in the MH (rogue satnav) & it's a real sod getting at the fuse box under the hood for the ones in the cab!
     
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
    Where does your manual say the fuse is?
    On my 2008 both sockets are on fuse 44 20amp, fuse box in cab drivers side
     
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,482
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +19,322
    Google tells me that yes it is the engine compartment fuse box
    F14 should be 15A and F15 10A. Power and cig socket respectively.
     
  9. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,109
    Location:
    Beds
    Ratings:
    +5,105
    Do you have a circuit breaker on your van? We've tripped ours when moving items in the cupboard where it is located and lost 12v power to a couple of sockets.
     
  10. Dogsense

    Dogsense Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +129
    I plugged a phone charger in the cigar lighter wich worked then in the power socket and not working.
    Used the horn fuse (also 15A) instead of the socket fuse - not working. Put the socket fuse in the Horn - working. So not a fuse fault.
    Need to get a Multi Meter. Any recommendations?
     
  11. Dogsense

    Dogsense Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +129
    Yes I checked the F14 fuse wich according the manual is the power socket fuse.
     
  12. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,212
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +3,356
    Don't rely too much on the manual. The fuses for my two dash sockets are the opposite way round to what the manual says.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,873
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    Ratings:
    +5,696
    always check with a meter what are you plugging in are you sure its not that thats failed
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. Dogsense

    Dogsense Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +129
    TheCaller, you been right, the two sockets, on my cab are opposite from what the manual says. The 10A fuse for the Cigar Lighter was the faulty one. Problem solved.
    Thanks all for the advice.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,714
    Well done you guys. :party3::party3::party3::party3:
     
  16. Bill_OR

    Bill_OR Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Nr Hastings, East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I know this is an old post but I blew the fuse on one of the 12v sockets in the cab today and the advice about not relying on a visual inspection of the fuse saved me countless hours of faffing around looking for another cause. I put my meter across the fuse and lo and behold it HAD blown even though it looked fine.
    Thank you!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page