Your thoughts please (1 Viewer)

Feb 25, 2020
Funster No
MH
PPVC Autocruise Alto
Exp
I'm a newbie
Your experienced thoughts on this please, My son is getting married mid sept near Montfort Sur Argens in the south of France.
We have a recently purchased PPVC and although we spent five weeks and 2500 miles on a NC500 trip have not done a European trip as yet, we are both retired so no time restraints at all really, so can spend max time allowed if required on this road trip.
Option 1= Drive there and back, door to door = 838 miles direct goggle maps route + tolls then wind our way back home closer to the coast.
Option 2 = Drive to Portsmouth then ferry to Bilbao or Santandar at horrendous cost then drive to Montfort Sur Argens = 739 / 790 + tolls then wind our back home closer to the coast.
Any comments much appreciated as currently thinking drive it both ways.

John Barrett

Free Member
Jan 19, 2020
Hamble, Southampton.
Funster No
MH
One Eyed in Hamble!
Exp
Since 2012
I would not do Option 2 if you want to enjoy France. We kept our boat in Montpellier for over eight years and regularly drove down taking just two days from Portsmouth/Le Havre. Your destination is East of there, but you should have no problems taking a leisurely three or four days.
I would come back westward through Languedoc and up via the Lot Valley.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Holly's mum

Funster
Jan 29, 2017
nr Huntingdon, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
Absolutely agree with David and Sally. Take the Chunnel and a nice leisurely drive there and back.

We never use the toll roads and take a more scenic route, as we like to enjoy the journey and have often found some lovely villages and attractions that we would never have found if we were on the toll roads.