Free Member
Nov 4, 2019
Derby
Funster No
MH
Still Looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, brand new to this site so firstly Hello!

I will be retiring from full time employment at the end of the year and looking to purchase a motorhome. Looking on Autotrader etc. and the array of choice is just mind boggling. I have a number of requirements but can't seem to find everything all in one motorhome so wondered if anyone could help with some advice? I realy want a full motorhome with shower etc, not a campervan. I want to have a garage large enough for a motor scooter and a fixed bed. I have a drive 8M long. I would want air conditioning in the cab as a minimum. I have a budget of around £30K. Am I asking too much or is there something out there and I'm just not seeing it? Thanks in advance! :) Steve

Deleted User
Easy, and only one option - buy German.
Before going to a dealer go to a big campsite, have a stroll around and talk to van owners. Most are happy to tell you the good and bad of their pride and joy. Also you will see them in use full of everything we carry instead of empty on a dealers forecourt.

Last edited by a moderator:
Upvote 0
Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
I think a lot of owners like the make they have . We have had 2 Chaussons they seem to me reasonable quality for a reasonable (in mh terms) price and the place we had our last hab service done who are service agents for lots of makes of all nationalities and dealers for none agree. Back to the op I think he needs some idea of how he is likely to use his mh in oreder to come to some idea what layout will suit and which compromises to go for also if his drive is 8m long what limits it does he really want his mh bang up to the pavement at the front and possibly stopping access to his garage at the back (or right up to his house). Also has he already got a scooter if not that would be a fairly cheap purchase to try out first before getting a mh to fit one in then finding the other half hates it!