What to look out for in Solar Panels? (1 Viewer)

Oct 8, 2014
Todmorden
Funster No
MH
Compactline 143
Exp
I'm a newbie and always will be. You never know it all.
I am looking to put around 300w of Monocrystalline Solar on the roof of my (new to me ) motorhome.

It seems there are a bewildering array of Prices in the extreme so as a non techy What am I looking for?

For instance

Are German cells really the best value for money?

Is higher voltage important?

Any pointers appreciated.

Thanks Les

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2012
Devon/Cornwall
Funster No
MH
'Obby
Exp
Since 1968'ish
Advertised From Germany but usually starting the journey from China.
Saying that have used a few successfully.
Best one I had were a cancelled order from firm in UK 200w that were to go on a roof array.
All monocrystaline

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
If you buy off a decent company that only sells solar, you know they're not going to be selling cheap rubbish. I got our 150w Chinese made panel from photonic universe and it's great. I emailed them first to ask if I should pay extra for the German made one, the answer I got back went something like this "We sell far more Chinese ones than German and we get good feedback from the sales. Technically the more expensive panels MAY produce more power in cloudy conditions, but it's unproven"

Our Chinese one is good build quality with glass top and sturdy aluminium frame, I think the extra money for the German one just goes on wages. ?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Hymie

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 29, 2013
Essex
Funster No
MH
Classic Hymer B564
Exp
Since 1981
I bought 3 x 100w panels 2 years ago from sellers that were recommended on Fun, photonic universe IIRC, they were all from China and were good quality.

The "German" ones are probably made in China anyway.