What did you start to do when you retired?

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Pilote P969D
Exp
Since 2012
I wasn`t bored by any means but I started sewing a couple of years ago (at 63), I wanted to do some sun blinds for our glass roofed terrace, absolutely love it, I do cushion covers, table cloths, curtains, the inevitable trouser shortening etc, my wife now looks at clothes when she buys them and thinks, that would be good if it was shorter, slimmer, etc
Bought a new machine and it paid for itself in a few months just with zips and hems etc, not that that was important but it feels good.

One day I am doing an oil change or something on one of the cars and the next day I am sewing hems or replacing a zip, I have no time to get old ........

kevenh

Free Member
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Other than cycling and walking more often, since last year’ layoff: -
  • On a rota at approx. once per month I record speakers reading our local newspaper. Then create a USB master recording that I’ll make about 60 copies of that i’ll later post to visually impaired “readers”.
  • I’m a volunteer tech buddy for our county’s visually impaired charity. That’s quite new but the role entails helping the VI get started with gadgets or troubleshoot their issues. Work is ad-hoc.
  • I’m a volunteer at the Greenham Control Tower. It’s also ad-hoc with a shift rota to opt into as needed.
  • later this year I’ll be a Greenham Common Guided walk volunteer host. These are once a month through summer. My first one is on May. As the newbie 🤔

Edit: context and to say I didn’t do the posh list formatting 🤪

OP
OP
Roby2008
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Pilote P969D
Exp
Since 2012
Other than cycling and walking more often, since last year’ layoff: -