Van will not lock! (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
The sliding door is shut firmly. No amount of pulling will open it. The release on the inside does nothing either. It's stuck shut.

This wouldn't be a problem as I could enter via drivers door, however the sliding door is not catching at the bottom left corner.

Therefore "rear doors open" warning message and light are on on the dash. Sometimes it beeps at me too when I'm driving, which isn't at all maddening. 🙈

Because the idiot computer (have I mentioned that I love this modern 💩?) wrongly believes that the sliding door is open pressing the lock button on the key no longer locks the drivers and passenger door. The key also refuses to turn in the driver's door lock. It must be connected to the super computer! 🙄

So I'm stuck with a van with locked back and stuck shut sliding door but drivers cab doors that will not lock at all.

I'm away at the moment and this has just happened. Very wary about leaving the van while I go hiking up a mountain etc with the doors unlocked.

Not too worried about sleeping tonight because I'm in the middle of a deserted pub field. But tomorrow may be an issue.

Any ideas?

As a tempory measure I may buy a chain to fix around the passenger door handle and seat frame. I already have one I fit around the drivers door and steering wheel. This would mean leaving and entering the van via the back door, which also means climbing over the four foot hight double bed at the back. Which isn't easy, isn't ideal in wet walking gear and frankly looks dodgy as you like to passers by.

🙈

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid