Free Member
Mar 31, 2018
Bath, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria
Exp
Since 2017
I have plenty of solar on the van which reaches the 14.4v most days quite easily for a couple of hours then steps down to 13.8v until the sun goes down. All as expected (I think)

But my SOC doesn’t go to 100%. It is reducing every day. See here:

7D54705C-8133-46EE-B847-994145957565.png

BMV settings:
54368AC2-5385-45F3-B816-7F89F4FD09F7.png

Seems strange.

Any ideas?

Thanks

May 7, 2016
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2003
It looks to me that your solar panel is no longer making sufficient power to achieve a full charge. The trend is falling slowly which is entirely consistent with the declining sunlight and the worsening angle of a horizontal panel. I am no expert but I don’t think the voltage tells the whole story, the voltage may held at 14.4V for a while but there might be very little power behind it i.e. not enough amps. Perhaps the solar charger is dropping back to a maintenance voltage because the output (Amps) falls below the set threshold (tail current). In other words it is reacting to the lack of amps not because the battery is full but because the solar panel is not producing enough.

Dec 2, 2019
Amersham
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2019
What’s the settings in the mppt? As Pausim says, you don’t have enough charge to bring it to 100%. If you have a tail current set in the solar controller, you need to disable it at this time. It falsely drop it into float before reaches full charge. Is this lead or Li?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
B

BigDean

Free Member
Mar 31, 2018
Bath, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria
Exp
Since 2017
What’s the settings in the mppt? As Pausim says, you don’t have enough charge to bring it to 100%. If you have a tail current set in the solar controller, you need to disable it at this time. It falsely drop it into float before reaches full charge. Is this lead or Li?