LIFE MEMBER
Jan 16, 2013
Blackburn
Funster No
MH
Eldiss autoquest 155
Exp
Since 2011
Driving down from Calais to southern Spain mid February for about 8 weeks. What's best, change to winter tyres (if so which), or purchase a set of snow chains, again (which).

Not sure yet if it will be a regular thing, depends upon SWMBO.

Oct 30, 2010
Suffolk or France or ........
Funster No
MH
A Class Carthago Chic
Exp
Since 2008
I'm no expert but have driven down a couple of times at that time and the only snow we saw was high up on the tops of the Pyrenees, way, way above the level that we were driving.
Just keep an eye on the weather apps and adjust your drive accordingly.

Richard.

Sep 3, 2009
NW Surrey
Funster No
MH
LHD Hymer exsis-i
In general terms, winter tyres would probably be of more use.

Malcolm

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Teuchter

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
81VtlzYF3oL._SY450_.jpg

Tucked away in the garage for emergency if required - bought on Amazon :)

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
With the new laws coming in across Europe a lot of the newer 4 season tyres have the winter snowflake mark. I think that would be my choice.

For those of you that don't know from 1st Jan 2018 countries requiring winter tyres during the winter M&S tyres will no longer be acceptable they must have the Snowflake mark.
Now to make it even more confusing Germany has said (assume other countries will be the same). If you have M&S tyres that were produced before this date you can carry on using them until Sept. 30th 2024.

TerryL

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 5, 2010
North East
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp