Reversing camera - help needed please. (1 Viewer)

RKDT Riggers

Free Member
Jun 26, 2020
Funster No
MH
Ace Adventurer
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi. We have just bought an ace adventurer with fitted in rear camera, I assume I was fitted at manufacture. It has the Blaupunkt Sat nav with it, which is still working as a sat nav, but when we put it into reverse, theres just no picture, sat nan just stays on. Checked connection at camera and at reverse light, and tried plugging AV cable into TV to see if a picture comes up on there, and it doesnt. Looked at buying a new kit to just use camera, but the connector is like a 6 pin with a slot in middle, and it looks like the ones you can buy have 4 pins. I have looked at buying a wireless one, but that still needs wiring to a reverse light, and since we already have all that done and we have no idea what we are doing re electrics, it doesnt seem like the ideal solution. Does anyone have any ideas please? Thank you for reading.

Jul 11, 2016
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Ixeo TL680g
Exp
returnee
if it looks like this it’s a waeco cable and you can get adaptors If required. BROKEN LINK
964FA676-5840-4BAF-BCD4-B58C623F2C3D.jpeg

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
Check first that one of the pins in the cable plug / socket at the camera end has +12v on it with the van in Reverse with the ignition on. If the supply from the reverse circuit isn't reaching the camera you won't get a picture.

Jan 21, 2020
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
I cannot vouch for this, although I am seriously thinking of giving it a try, as no wiring required!

My can had a totally useless reversing camera, simply points down right at the back of the van and about as much use as a chocolate teacup!