Refillable Gas Bottles......End of Life. (1 Viewer)

Oct 8, 2014
Todmorden
Funster No
MH
Compactline 143
Exp
I'm a newbie and always will be. You never know it all.
Bellow is part of a PM reply I tried to send to a fellow Funster we are limited to 420 word and I couldn't be bothered to count them all and rewrite:LOL:

Hi Carthorse,
Well now you've set me off, I never really thought about expiry dates and testing etc.
The expiry date is indeed 2024.
The thing is you don't research or even think about what the date is until you need to find the answer,
The bottles appear to be stamped 01 2024, I didn't buy them until 11 2014 so 10 months of their life had already expired,
The information on the internet is very sketchy and I can find no individual who has any experience as to the cost of re testing cylinders many seem to have posed the question but none seem to have a definitive answer.
It really is abag of worms waiting to be opened.
This is from the Gasit web site

It would appear that in the not to distant future we are all going to be well and truly stitched up.

There has been just one post on here I think with reference to this subject,

I certainly don't recall any blurb on the Gasit web site when I purchased the system telling me that the system would be virtually defunct.
Oh and how benevolent they would be to us all by not charging us to recycle the cylinders.

There is every price of every item listed on their website apart from the cost of re commissioning the old cylinders they do however give advice on companies who may provide this service.:swear::swear::swear::swear:

Camping Gaza

Free Member
May 7, 2016
La Châtre, Centre-Val de Loire France
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt Low profile
Exp
Converted a Fiat Ducato PV a while back
What they gonna do at the end of their best before date? All the welding disintegrate? split open melt? self destruct? go mouldy? Eaten by the dreaded tin worm?