Rear Overhang Swing (1 Viewer)

Mar 2, 2019
Vale of Glamorgan
Funster No
MH
Carado T447
Exp
I am a newbie ex caravaner for 40years
Picking our new Carado T447 up next week and I have never driven one before but I have towed numerous caravans over plenty of years.
I am not daunted by the thought, in fact, I am looking forward to it, but I am conscious of the fact that there is substantial overhang swing to be accounted for when manoeuvring in tight spaces or maybe sharp bends?, do any of you more experienced motorhome owners have any advice /tips that you could pass on to me please ?.

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Well your already aware of the overhang, swing and extra room needed.
I would say your already sorted.. Just allow a bit more room when you pull out or turn tight, Soon get used to it.. (y)

Jul 27, 2010
Farnham Surrey
Funster No
MH
Bilbos Nexa
Exp
on and off since 1980
The place I am very wary at are toll booths, close enough to reach but need to careful when clearing the barrier when it goes up.

movan

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 2, 2009
Moving around
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
since07
And turning right if ghere is a bollard in the road
And turning left if there is a signpost right on the edge of the pavement
And reversing
And ... errr ... well, maybe I'm not ghe right person ask.

;)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

moulin 87

Free Member
Aug 31, 2015
Limousin, France
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Espirit T7150
Exp
For me the swing is the lesser concern, car park/ferry ramps and severe hairpin bends have caught me out before so I always carry fibre glass repair kit to fix flapping skirt on the rear of the van..

moulin 87

Free Member
Aug 31, 2015
Limousin, France
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Espirit T7150
Exp
How often do you hit something ?

Not so much hit as scraped the bottom of the overhang.

1st time on a hairpin bend in the Italian Alps when they were doing road works.