Free Member
Apr 9, 2018
Dudley
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Advantage
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello everyone, further to my question on new tyres yesterday.. I opted for Michelin camper, l emailed Kwik fit asking if they did metal HP valves and they phoned and said they would fit metal valves at no extra cost . So l booked online to have them fitted .. Today l had a call from them and was told, l was given false information and they don't fit metal valves and they refunded my money.. I'm now confused.. are the standard valves they fit suitable for the job.. (l'm a newbie full timer) . I appreciate any advice . Thank you

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Assuming you already have metal valves there should be no need to change them... Or remove them.
If the begin to leak they need new seals, not replacing.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Don't have to be metal valves but do have to be high pressure valves. They do rubber snap in high pressure ones the have a brass centre core.
Like this.
Screenshot_20190301-190638_crop_377x302.jpg

If you already have metal valves just get them to fit new cores

OP
OP
Paul and Pippa

Paul and Pippa

Free Member
Apr 9, 2018
Dudley
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Advantage
Exp
I'm a newbie
Assuming you already have metal valves there should be no need to change them... Or remove them.
If the begin to leak they need new seals, not replacing.
Hiya Pappa, I'm changing my tyres and wanted metallic valves fitted as advised by Michelin

bobandjanie

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 28, 2008
Javea, Spain
Funster No
MH
Pilote V600g
Exp
Had camper tyres fitted at Halfords, :rolleyes: told them I wanted metal valves, the manager told me he had a motorhome and has normal valves, the tyre fitter said you should have metal valves, the manager went off and got some. (y)