New Electrical System (Solar, DIY Winston LiFePo4, BMS, Victron) (1 Viewer)

rolandsaven

Free Member
Mar 19, 2018
Funster No
I’m designing a new electrical system, however, I’m pretty new to this and would like to ask some of the experts here. I started out this to be a really simple design and now it’s getting way more complicated.

I’ve chosen the DIY lithium battery route instead of pre-made batteries due to cost. There are not so much information out there (in English) for DIY lithium batteries so you guys might have some experience in this.

Anyway, you can see the wiring diagram attached and I’ll just put the list of the main components.
  • Victron MultiPlus 12/3000/120 16A
  • Victron SmartSolar MPPT 100/50
  • 4 x 100W 24V Mono Solar Panel
  • Victron BatteryProtect BP-65
  • Victron BatteryProtect BP-100
  • Victron Lynx Distributor
  • Victron BMV-712
  • Victron Venus-GX
  • 4 x Winston 3.2V 260Ah Cell
  • 123Smart BMS or (REC Active BMS)

My questions:

1. Is there any advantage using Victron’s BatteryProtect product over a simple latching relay? This is for the BMS123 Smart to switch off the load and/or the charge bus/devices?
  2. MPPT’s max charge current is 50Ah. Is the BP-65 a good choice?
  3. Do I need to use a fuse or a circuit breaker between the PV array (solar panels) and the MPPT charger?
  4. The cables measured one way. Are the cable grades correct?
  5. Can I connect a switch to the remote port of the BatteryProtect while it is connected to the BMS? This is to be able to manually switch on/off the BatteryProtect. (so it would act as a switch when servicing)