mobile broadband

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by darklord, Jun 2, 2012.

  1. darklord

    darklord Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    I,m getting pretty fed up with the abonimally slow speeds on my Orange dongle. Time for a change I think,......who does a nice quick one, just for browsing etc, I dont download much.
     
  2. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +3,168
    3. Mine is lovely. £29.95 I think. Can't say more 'cos I'm not techie. ::bigsmile:

    Ivy
     
  3. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,965
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +9,889
    Very impressed with lap top tethered to my i phone on T Mobile, just as quick as pc at home
    down side is you have to pay for tethering but you can pay by the day or week when you want it, im away for 7 days and full access is £7 for the 7 days, but im not paying for the other 3 weeks in the month when i dont need it, and it is quick and stable
    Geo
     
  4. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,242
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,181
    I use T-mobile and it'spretty quick in UK. Abroad its down to what the local provider provides and can be pretty slow.
     
  5. darklord

    darklord Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    Which is very strange, as I thought orange had bought T mobile, so speeds should be the same...........I,m off to do an experiment, will report back.
     
  6. Castaway

    Castaway Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Darlington
    Ratings:
    +40
    Very happy with 3.
    Particularly as I'm only paying £8 a month for 3GB!
    And that's with a MiFi 'dongle'!
     
  7. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,077
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    Ratings:
    +5,283
    hi darklord .i use an orange dongle here in uk. few months ago it went very slow .i rang orange .after bit of playing around and re setting it to a t mobile code it really went much better everything with the dongle stayed the same i just had to change the set up on the opening pages . they ran me through it. give them a call might be an update required.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  8. darklord

    darklord Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +1,245
    Yup, just done it Alan.......bleddy great, I can now poke around youtube and look at links posted here...also my google earth is actuall working now as well whoooopidoo.:thumb::thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,077
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    Ratings:
    +5,283
    glad it worked for you .i was getting ready to change the dongle . i actually spoke to one of their tecnicitions that knew me . changed it to t mobile and it flies now. worth remembering . have a good one.
     
  10. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9,299
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +20,133
    I use 3 Mi Fi , good bit of kit , always works for me :thumb:
     
  11. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    I have an Orange dongle - oooh missus - any chance of a "How To" to change it to T Mobile?

    Thanks
     
  12. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,077
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    Ratings:
    +5,283
    yes ring orange and complain. i was soon asked questions about the set up . etc was told an update would fix it . its too tec for me to explain or remember .but i think i rang 150.
     
  13. Colin and Jaen Andrews

    Colin and Jaen Andrews Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +34
    orange dongle

    yeh had same prob - rang them and my instructions were:

    open orange link
    go to tools then
    options
    network
    registration mode
    manual search and register
    refresh
    wait for it to bring up different users
    pick t mobile
    register
    close
    connect
    will ask question but ok to say yes as tmobile part of orange now

    sounds long winded but doesnt take long
    works for me:thumb::thumb::thumb:

    cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page