Minibus conversion - recommendations for base vehicle (1 Viewer)

Aug 23, 2021
Nuneaton, UK
Funster No
MH
Minibus Conversion
Hello all, new member here.

I am planning to do a Minibus to motorhome conversion over this winter & as I've never done anything like this before I need some advice & recommendation on what to use as a base vehicle. I have a budget of around 7K max for the bus, so obviously there are hundreds around within that price bracket, some with quite low miles too.

Regarding criteria, I appreciate there won't be a 'best of all worlds' regarding Torque/Economy/Reliability/Comfort etc, I will say I prefer performance over economy all day long, as it's not going to do very high miles.

These are some of the Minibuses I have been looking at:

Transit
Renault Master
Merc Sprinter
LDV Maxus
Iveco Daily

So I would welcome any good/bad info on the above, then there is the model to choose aswel. I definitely want something with a good bit of torque.

If anyone has any recommendations what exactly to go for (or what to avoid!) this will be welcomed.

Regarding Class - after conversion I assume C1? - if you are not carrying any passengers?

What is the law regarding weight? (or weight changes)

Thank-you in advance

Jamie

Jamesh

Free Member
Jun 28, 2020
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
Caravaning since 2010
I'd avoid the Renault master having had one and read lots of renault forums!!

Also the maxis is very crude ok for a 1-3k van but not worth any more.

Mk 7 transits are common rust is the worst problem engines are general fairly straightforward and reliable.

Sprinters are ok but prone to superficial rust and electrical wngine gremlins.

Also look at vw lt35/46 and crafter's.

Not to mention Seville vans such as pugeot boxer, Citroen relay, fiat Ducato. Fairly reliable, wide width to sleep across wise.

Iveco daily are good but a truck like to drive with a higher position and ladder chassis.

Cheers James

Jamesh

Free Member
Jun 28, 2020
Funster No
MH