Lunar quality (1 Viewer)

Feb 14, 2021
Milton Keynes, UK
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 727G
Exp
19 month year 18000 miles UK, Ireland, France, Spain, Germany, Italy. Campsites and off Grid.
Newbie here. Looking around for first motor home. Just getting the feel of the market at the moment. Looked at a lot of Autotrail, Swift, Burstner and others and most come on the Fiat or Peugeot base and then came across the Lunar Roadstar EB - Renault. I was attracted by this from the point of view of the base van as I have long been a Renault fan. But what of Lunar? Where do they fit in the league in terms of build quality?

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
:welco:

Don't call them Leaky Lunars without reason, we had a Lunar caravan, more water in the walls than the garden pond. I personally wouldn't touch anything British made.
A lot of the Lunars were made buy the Belgium firm Homecar they went bump.

Sep 10, 2020
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Autograph 69-2
Exp
Moved over to the Dark Side after 16 yrs tugging.
Didn't Lunar Caravans at Preston go out of business, then a management buyout then in July 2019, the business had entered administration following severe cash flow problems. Wasn't there some dispute with workers who were not paid and then there were problems with furlough in April 2020? ( www.lancs.live/news/lancashire-news/staff-lunar-caravans-cant-pay-18177510 )
Is the motorhome made by the same lot?
My mate had a Lunar caravan and had to get shot of it when the whole of the kitchen cupboard unit detached itself from the walls. Service engineer said the the roof was detaching from the walls. It was at the end of his first season from new last year. Luckily he traded it in and the dealer would have the responsibility of repair.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 10, 2016
hucknall
Funster No
MH
Swift bolero 712sb
Exp
10 years