Looking for our first motorhome (1 Viewer)

apm101

Free Member
Feb 16, 2017
Bromley, Kent
Funster No
MH
Nothing yet...
Exp
Total newbie
Hi all,

We're looking for our first van, and have found a 2007 Orian Aquilas locally to where we are camping with our hire van. We really like the size, layout and general feel of it, but before we committed, I thought I would consult the collective mind of the forum about it. I've read a review that was mostly positive with one or two caveats, and I am still minded that this is a good option (it has added bonus of captains chairs, air con, awning and solar panels. We're a family of two adults and an eight-year old, will sometimes travel with another adult or kid of a similar age. We will travel in the UK and near continent.

Any other models that are good in this range? We're looking to spend £25 - £30k, and would like over cab bed, French rear bed or u-shaped lounge, dinette and length about 6.5-7m.

Cheers in advance,

Alex.

EX51SSS

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 18, 2015
North Manchester
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis A Class
Exp
since 2007
welcome animated smiley3.gif

Upvote 0
Jul 12, 2013
The City of Henlow
Funster No
MH
Adria Supreme
Exp
Since 1980
I think Orion were based on Autosleeper vans, at least when I had an Autosleeper Orion made a very similar unit.
They may have gone out of business, for I have not seen any since about 2008. I think there may be alternatives that can offer more back-up.
Nobody can suggest better models, for we are all biased towards our own requirements, layout, looks and loyalties.
Please visit a large Motorhome show, there are plenty coming up, where you can make choices based on a wide range of vans.
Layout, your social needs, price and a lack of damp would all come high in my selection. Vans are very expensive and it is a good idea to buy once rather than regret what you may have missed considering.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Aug 15, 2014
Exiled in Yorkshire
Funster No
MH