Looking for interesting Aires in France (1 Viewer)

May 12, 2019
Tyneside-Cadiz: All points between!
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Delaware
Exp
Years Tugging - Newbie MHing
Hi Funsters

Sue and I have been travelling from NE UK to southern Spain since 2003, sometime two times a year and always on Peage between stops, initially by car and hotels, last year by caravan and campsite s and down this year by MH.

Last year and this we stayed at sites close to the coast, and I’m almost certain, that by using sites in high population areas we have not seen the best of France. We love the idea of ancient small towns with local produce as opposed to the tower blocks and crowded sites we have experienced (not all of course).

We are in Spain now and will head back early October and had planned to just blast through to Calais, but would really like to try the aires in smaller French towns an villages to at least say we’ve given it a fair go!

One of the YouTube MH couples who just came back from Spain (unfortunately I forgot their channel name) had a recent video of them stopping off at a number of really lovely small aires in quaint villages in France, and I’m wondering how everyone chooses their route to blend reasonable travel distance and interesting aires / towns?

I could easily have 6-7 stopovers on my route through France this time with 10 days to do it in if I could plan a nice route.

I guess I’m really asking, how do you select towns and villages to stop at? I have all the aires books for France. Is it as simple as choosing the distance you want to travel, looking for small towns and discounting those without aires?

BTW we have a dog and exercise is an essential for stopping off anywhere (mainly why we have used the coastal routes in the past).

I love planning routes and I’m usually pretty good at it, so this sounds a bit pathetic on re-reading, but I’d genuinely appreciate feedback from those experienced in this sort of trip and France in general.

TIA

Ian

tonka