Free Member
Aug 29, 2015
Oban, Argyll and Bute, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer B584
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have a leaking windscreen and feel that the rubbers that appear to have already been sealed need replacing. Does anyone know of a company or person that can removed the windscreen, replace the rubbers and the windscreen and re-seal? The van is a Hymer B584 on a Fiat Ducato base.

treetops1

Free Member
Feb 25, 2013
yorkshire/ lincolnshire.
Funster No
MH
Sold last van-
Exp
a long time,since 1996
A bit risky that. Can you not use clear silicone with a fine nozzle around the window carefully inside and out lol

Feb 26, 2013
derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Autocruise stargazer
Exp
since 2013
We had that problem and tested it with a hose to check where the sealant had broken down. We removed all the old sealant, and used "tiger seal" which we got from our garage and haven't had a problem since. Good luck .

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
It's likely that most windscreen places would not want to know and if you do find one then their unlikely to take responsibility if anything goes wrong and the screen gets damaged.
It's a bit of a lost art these days fitting older type rubber section and filler bead as pretty well all modern vehicle screens are bonded in.
I had a classic car business before I retired so was a bit of a dab hand at removing and fitting that type of screen, but when we had an awkward one that would not play ball we knew an old boy who was a retired windscreen fitter who would give us a hand.

It might be worth contacting a classic bus or coach club in your area to see if they can point you towards a company or somebody that can help.

http://www.classicbuses.co.uk/links.html