Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
We have seen a very nice voyager, new but a 2017 model at a substantial discount, for the size and spec it seems a good price, has a very luxurious feel inside, and value for money wise, whilst still a lot seems far better than a smaller hymer etc.once the spec is taken into account.
I have looked on the le voyager board, but they seem quite rare, how are they for quality, insulation etc they have a foam type lining on the inner walls supposedly for heat and noise insulation, does it make it quieter to drive?

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Part of/badged Pilot I believe but with a better spec using the old Le Voyageur name which used to be a completely different van and built to a very high standard not that there is anything wrong with these later models its just the same as a RMB is no longer what it used to be.

It sounds as if you like the van and I would not worry about the 2017 spec if the price is right, yes I believe little things like the foam/material lining on the walls make a difference all the "top money" vans have it in one way or another suede/carpet/leatherette.

Martin

Jan 27, 2014
Oakham, Rutland
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
As said it is part of the Pilote group, the voyager is a pilote with a higher speck. I have a Pilote and in 20 years and several motorhomes it is the best I have owned, so if it ticks the boxes for you I would go for it and good luck.

Blue Knight

Free Member
Aug 7, 2017
Durham
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
The Pilote Group is going the same way as any of the big converters IMO, i.e. the materials are getting lighter and the components don't seem to feel as solid as they once did.