Larger Battery Bank Wiring Configurations (1 Viewer)

Blue Knight

Free Member
Aug 7, 2017
Durham
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 640
Exp
G'Day All,

I'm seeking some Funster wisdom on my potential battery set-ups for our boat. I won't post this on the boat forum as they are a fairly unforgiving lot to newbies and expect everyone to have a degree in electrical stuff - I don't so here goes:

Specifically to my charging set-up I have an onboard Mastervolt 80A EHU/Shoreline charger and a secondary 110A alternator for the 4 x 110Ah wet Leisure batteries. (The batteries may need replacing though).

My intention is to add a Victron Smart 100/50 MPPT Reg and c.700W of split panel mono solar to the top deck. The panels will be mounted on angled platforms to help maximise the solar efficiency (by 30% over flat panels).

My question relates to the following diagrams in terms of me achieving the best charging/equalization for the batteries etc (I'll be using 12v batteries for now although I may consider the use of 6v Trojans and linking them accordingly).

..........so chaps, which would you consider to be the best industry standard wiring application for the following 4 or 5 battery-sized banks please.

I'm also wondering if you could swap the load wires around a bit so that the two load wires were derived from the two outermost batteries in each of the diagrams below.

Any help/input would be much appreciated.

All the best,

Andrew

1. 5 x 12v battery bank (replace the starter battery with a 5th leisure batt).
Screenshot_20200921-080440_Gallery.jpg

2. 4 x 12v battery bank albeit the inverter and solar symbols are missing from this diagram:
Screenshot_20200921-080527_Gallery.jpg

Last edited:
Apr 27, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
Since the 80s
The idea is to make the total length of the wire to each battery equal.