Is this the cause of my airbag warning light? (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I have a warning light on the dash for an airbag failure. I wouldn't be bothered but I am lead to believe it is an MOT failure issue. And it's probably better to have it working if possible. I had decided to just leave it for a mechanic to sort at some point, but I may have stumbled upon the cause?

When I removed the passenger seat in my van (Peugeot Boxer 2013) I found this unattached cable. Am I right in thinking a yellow connector indicates it is something to do with the airbag system? Should this cable be attached to something, and might attaching it fix the warning light?

van airbag.jpg

I hope you guys don't mind me asking all these questions! I'm grateful for all the advise offered to me so far.

joka250

Free Member
Jul 29, 2017
Fylde Coast.
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1985
It's definitelyrelevant to airbag. Don't just plug it in. Disconnect vehicle battery first. Lots of useful videos on YouTube.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 22, 2018
Herts.
Funster No
MH
Adria Coral lowline
I believe that is normal not to be plugged in, especially if you don‘t have passenger airbag on the dash.

Dec 2, 2019
Amersham
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
Since 2019
That is a seat belt pre tensioner plug. If you got one then it needs plugging back in as it works in conjunction with airbag deployment. If you pull it out, without disconnecting the battery, it trows a fault. It needs to go back in and reset re scan for codes.

BwB

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 3, 2011
Suffolk UK
Funster No
MH
Resting b'twix vans
Exp
Since 1990