Free Member
Dec 2, 2020
Guernsey
Funster No
MH
Malibu Charming 640
Exp
I’m a newbie
I’m traveling from Birkenhead to Belfast on July 10th, staying over near Belfast then heading west to travel down the Wild Atlantic Way down to Dingle and finally sailing back from Rosslare to CHerbourg. Have campsites booked as far as Cong. Can anyone tell me if I need any special paperwork for Southern Ireland any recommendations on campsites and golf courses along the way please. Thank Jean

Jane And Rog

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 19, 2019
Ashford, Kent
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640 SGX
Exp
Since 2017
No paperwork needed to enter the Republic - or leave it :) as you drive between the two countries you’ll see why enforcing controls on the land border is such a challenge.

Don’t have any specific recommendations but I would say don’t miss out on Northern Ireland. We had a great time on a short tour there last year. Less busy and some amazing scenery.

Upvote 0
Dec 2, 2019
South Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7065+
Exp
Broken most bits now
The only thing we noticed was the mobile roaming kicks in and out all the time along the border with southern Ireland and we got quizzed by customs about what we had on board and needed passports travelling via Dublin port from Holyhead, but you shouldn't have these checks going via Belfast, although you may as well have the passports handy just in case.

Upvote 0
Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
The antrim and causeway coasts are not to be missed, spectacular scenery. Londonderry is worth a visit and malin head.
Donegal has some beautiful beaches and pretty villages.
I'd hoped to get as far as Galway but in the I ran out of time and only got to Westport as there's so much to see.
No paperwork needed, have your passport but you probably won't need it.
WAW roads vary from good A roads to single track with passing places but all are passable in a motorhome, just take your time and follow the signs.