Inserting a link alias

Discussion in 'Website Help' started by Taran_Las, Aug 19, 2014.

  1. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7,474
    Location:
    Yr Wyddgrug
    Ratings:
    +8,970
    Can someone please point me to the forum help section where it shows how to insert a link. If I copy & paste I get the full URL whereas on the previous forum software I could insert a word (or number of words) which would be inserted into the post as an alias of the URL.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,798
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +105,123
    Type the word you'd like to be the anchor link. Highlight the word/s then click on the link item above (chain link). Paste in the URL and click insert (y)
     
  3. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7,474
    Location:
    Yr Wyddgrug
    Ratings:
    +8,970
  4. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    28,425
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +41,035
    Keep at it Phil. Learning the secrets of IT isn't all that hard :rofl::rofl:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7,474
    Location:
    Yr Wyddgrug
    Ratings:
    +8,970
    Graham, as usual I used the directive RTFM:D (but unfortunately couldn't find the solution).

    So back to another manual - Mathew 7:7 "Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find" .....didn't work so I reverted to the red writing(y)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice