I wish I knew this before making an insurance claim! (2 Viewers)

Jul 4, 2016
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
V-Line 636 Sport
Stealaway

Late last year whilst driving onto levelling ramps, both ramps on the same side, front and rear, the front driving wheel skidded on wet grass and the van slid sideways and off the ramp. Damaged front bumper and quote to fix was / and is £1800. I claimed on the insurance.

So this turns out to be a fault claim. Come to renew my car insurance, despite more than 40years without a claim / accident, the van claim affects my car policy and its loaded as I made a fault claim. Renew my Mrs insurance, that too is loaded because I made a claim. My daughters car, as a named driver, that was also loaded.

I now wish I paid for the insurance claim! This carries on for the next 5 years.

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Even non fault claims very often you will get loaded as well.

Years ago some toerag tried to break into my garage.
I fixed the damage myself as couldn’t be doing with the hassle of claiming and the cost.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 15, 2015
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago E-Line 50
Exp
Since May 2011
They’ve got you by the bo****ks. The whole system is set up to persuade you not to claim. That’s why I always opt for a large excess to get a cheaper premium; its often cheaper to pay up a couple of grand and fix it than take the loading on all of your vehicles for 5 years.

Unfair but that’s life.

Dec 24, 2014
Hurstpierpoint. Mid Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Compass Navigator
Exp
Ever since lighting was by Calor gas.
I think the same penalty applies if your vehicle is parked when damaged by another.
A pal's car whilst parked briefly in the road one evening and was hit (written off in fact) by a tipsy neighbour's car whilst he had nipped back indoors having forgotten his debit card.