I have a Tracker, which is the best sim card for this? (1 Viewer)

Apr 21, 2016
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
Newbie here
I used GiffGaff when I had the type of tracker that needed a sim card. I have now moved the card to my Truma iNet box, just paying for the odd text when I interrogate it. I put £10 on the card last May and have not needed to top it up since. If your tracker uses text alerts you need a network that still supports 2G. I believe that rules out Three but O2, EE and Vodafone still have 2G coverage, it is being phased out.
Correct regarding the three network. It doesn't have 2g.
As you said, all the other main networks do have 2g.
However from what I can see, the first company to get rid of anything will be Vodafone. They are switching off their 3g sometime this or next year.
They are keeping their 2g for the time being as are the others.

Last edited:

plug

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 11, 2022
West Kingsdown, UK
Funster No
MH
tracker eks
Exp
I used GiffGaff when I had the type of tracker that needed a sim card. I have now moved the card to my Truma iNet box, just paying for the odd text when I interrogate it. I put £10 on the card last May and have not needed to top it up since. If your tracker uses text alerts you need a network that still supports 2G. I believe that rules out Three but O2, EE and Vodafone still have 2G coverage, it is being phased out.
Hi my autotrail is fitted with the argent tracker system, and I had enquired a few days ago regarding the 2G being fazed out and was informed it will be around till 2027/8, hope this information will help other funsters

Mar 6, 2008
Spixworth
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion Moto-
Exp
Since 2006
I have an O2 PAYG sim in my tracker. Lasts forever!! (Unless I forget to turn off movement, when i get constant texts warning me it has moved). Still, on the bright side it does show it works. There is always something to be glad about!