Here we go again. Microsoft trying to force you to upgrade your computer. (1 Viewer)

Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
Totally unnecessary.

Windows 11 will be out later this year and requires a computer with a TPM 2.0 module.
Very few computers come with this, but some more recent motherboards you can buy a module to plug in.

Fortunately MS will not be forcing you to upgrade to Windows 11 until 2025 so we have 3-4 years left.

But no doubt they will nag you mercilessly until you do.

Also your Motherboard needs to support secure boot properly in the UEFI which some laptop makers have half assed and botched.

I suspect there will be a flood of old computers coming on the market over the next couple of years.

About the TPM 2.0 module.

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Could be painful but this security may be or should be in a PC built by a manufacturer since 2016.

Good look with the Windows 11 readiness checker. Sounds like there are false passes and fails occurring with it’s results.

Who’s asking for a more secure computer? Microsoft just make Xbox and Surface portables. :think:

OP
OP
Gromett
Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
Could be painful but this security may be or should be in a PC built by a manufacturer since 2016.

Erm, TPM 2.0 was only released in 2019.

Lots of manufacturers don't add it to their PC's. At best they provide a socket on the motherboard where you can plug a module into it.
Make sure you get the right one though as there is no standards for pin connections and you could cause a short by plugging the wrong one in.

OP
OP
Gromett
Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
Still on W7 with no problems except the stupid audio latency issue which means I still use XP on a couple of PCs