Help with automatic gearbox fault please. (1 Viewer)

Aug 24, 2023
Dorset, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis-i 414
Exp
I’m a newbie
Any ideas? I have a 2019 Exsis-i 414
On a Fiat with a 6 speed auto, every now and again, after driving with no problem up and down the gears, i come to a stop at a junction and though the engine is still running it will not rev up to pull away. Moving from drive to neutral and back into drive would make it come back to life and away i would drive. Today it happened twice and both times i had to turn the engine off and back on again before it would pull away?
I presume it must be something electrical?

Apr 26, 2015
Ottershaw
Funster No
MH
Hymer S820
Exp
First motorhome May 2021
Does it have the comformatic gearbox? If so there are a load of posts on here with various issues if you do a search, Adams Morey at Southampton appear to be the go to garage for issues with these.

Badknee

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2014
notloB
Funster No
MH
Vantage Neo
Exp
Living the dream.
Auto box actuation fluid is due a change I would imagine. Adams Morey as above £147.

Kannon Fodda

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 26, 2019
Seek and Ye May Find
Funster No
MH
Autotrail V-line 540
Exp
I Make Schoolboy Errors!
2019 fiat auto is a Comfortmatic unit. That is a manual box with added actuators and servos controlled by electronics that changes gears.

The main unit system uses a brake type fluid. This can age and get contaminated. Often missed on service schedules recommended to be changed every 2 years. At same time the electronics get reset to allow for adjustment of the kiss point wear on clutch.

Failure of the main servo cylinder or slave cylinder from contamination is very costly to replace. Adams Morey Portsmouth or Southampton are the people who properly understand the Comfortmatic, but don't come cheap.

There are many threads on MHF on the Comfortmatic issues and also how to temporarily DIY reset (see Dunnah01).

Nov 5, 2013
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago chic e-line
Exp