Markb20

Free Member
Mar 15, 2020
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr 524
Exp
Total newbie
Hi I want to buy a small portable generator to charge my motorhome every couple of weeks it’s a swift motorhome. I started looking at generators and it’s a complete mine field any advice would be appreciated

cbrookson

LIFE MEMBER
May 5, 2011
Suffolk
Funster No
MH
Le Voyageur RX9 2012
Exp
Since 2001
Probably the best choices are the Honda Suitcase ones ... like the 1kW EU10i. They do a 2Kw one as well. Nice and quiet, compared to some of the other ones I've seen (and heard!) ... no doubt someone will say they have an Aldi special at 1/3rd of the price .... :LOL:

If you just want to keep the battery charged, I'd have fitted a solar panel. You could also keep the leisure and vehicle batteries charged if you get battery to battery unit (about £50 or so installed) - if your motorhome does not do it already ...

You should get enough power to keep charged in Winter if you have modest sized solar panel .. it would also work if you were on the road, and be cheaper than a generator.

Just a thought, there may be another reason that you want a generator!
Cheers

Ivory55

Free Member
May 23, 2012
North West Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2012
Is it because it’s in storage in a compound that he need power

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 4, 2019
North East Riviera
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Enough to Survive
Something as simple as this may suffice for your requirements.

4 stroke, economic and quiet when running.

I have one for a different application, but I have plugged a van into it to power the onboard battery charger.

They do them in bigger sizes too.

Nassboards Instant Power Portable Suitcase Inverter Petrol Generator 4 Stroke 2.6HP 800W 12V 230V Amazon product ASIN B07XZMFV5H

Screwfix do a very similar looking one, with different branding.

The Hyundai P1 range appear quite popular too, I’ve not used one but have seen quite a few about.