Gas Bottles (1 Viewer)

May 15, 2019
Funster No
MH
looking
Exp
Hi all

We've been looking at a Hymer on sunday and it has fittings for two calor gas/propane cylinders rather than the gaslo system. Is this any good. and does it mean lugging them out and in when needing changing?

thanks in advance

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Yes. Calor gas bottles are exchanged not refilled.
The 6kg/7kg bottles are easy enough to swap out. imo.
No idea of larger sizes as my locker is just for those sizes I mention.

With gas & bottle added together the 6kg/7kg are <20kg

Jul 13, 2008
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2007
Would say 99% of UK motorhomes use Calor.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Calor or similar like Flogas will mean lugging bottles in and out. Heavy on the large bottles and expensive if you use a lot of gas.
Gaslo, gas-it or alugas system can always be fitted later.
Another alternative is Safefill bottles, lightweight and refillable.

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
If you can get a red propane Calor gas bottle for free/not much £££, you can use that while deciding what gas storage method suits you.

As first timers buying from a dealer we got a gas bottle fitted via the Calor exchange scheme so the cost was discounted in our pricing agreement.
To help with the logistics we later got a 2nd one from Facebook cheap.
Recycle centres are a possible place for a starter/2nd bottle.

edit: getting the 1st bottle via Calor is expensive. & what I'm suggesting you avoid - especially if going refillable when you've looked into it is an option.