Enough to put the thieving ****s off? (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Someone posted on the village Facebook page about their van being stolen in the night.

With that in mind I’ve come up with a couple of quick things to hopefully act as a deterrent if they have a look at my van with their thieving eyes.

A bit of a bike chain. I’ve cut the plastic away so one end can be looped and locked around the door and the other looped and locked around the steering wheel.

60471F51-C5FA-44C4-86DD-6036AB963233.jpeg

I’ve put this battery powered alarmed padlock around the gear stick. The van is in reverse and the nose is pointing out. To get it off the drive they will have to get it it neutral or a forward gear and the movement will set off the alarm. And it is LOUD.

FBED41C6-776A-455A-A2EA-BA440CED873C.jpeg

Also got this steering wheel lock. It was less than a tenner from the village petrol station but it’s decent enough.

3001A315-5630-4D7B-8521-E66D149F641A.jpeg

All three things are easily broken, with say, a good pair of bolt cutters or a grinder. But hopefully it’s enough to put them off trying. Hopefully they will think another van would be easier.

Stay safe.

Jack.

🔐 🔒 🚨 🔐 🔒

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Better still add a hidden kill switch that isolates the low pressure diesel pump

That’s a bit technical for my pea brain and I’ve just done this quick with stuff I had laying about in the shed. Seriously thinking about a heavy duty wheel clamp.

Aug 19, 2013
Wells, Somerset
Funster No
MH
Elddis 115
Exp
since 2004