E.H.U. continuous? Here's an interesting read. (1 Viewer)

Feb 16, 2020
KT15.
Funster No
MH
Sunlight. T66. 2019.
Exp
Absolute beginners.
Feb 18, 2017
Greenwich, London, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer MLT 570
Exp
Interesting.

If I was to leave my M/H on EHU whilst in storage, I'd fit a £10 timeclock and limit charging to about 4hrs per week.

Also it shows that DIY solar installations using domestic panels are not recommended.

I have rigid solar panels and a Victron system installed by a reputable motorhome installation company (VanBitz) with a battery master so that the trickle charge goes to both batteries.

Apr 3, 2018
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
1995-2004 & 2017》
There seems to me two schools of thought on these type of subjects...
On one hand you get those who are happy to let technology look after their equipment...be it solar chargers not cooking batteries... temp probes preventing sub zero charging of lithiums or so called smart chargers which you can supposedly leave unattended.
Then you get the likes of me who don't trust technology and have physical means to disconnect solar and chargers etc by fitting switches to isolate each item.
Each to there own as the saying goes.!!!!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

eddie

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 4, 2007
Taunton Somerset
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
since 1989
We get dozens of enquiries every winter about flat batteries and the ensuing problems that "jump starting" has produced

We don't get problems because of being left on hook up or with solar panels, well not that I can remember for the last few years

My van is plugged in 24/7 and has nearly 500w of solar on the roof

Oct 12, 2009
SW London, Poland and all Europe
Funster No
MH
A Class N+B Arto 69GL
Exp
Since 2009
I saw this and found it interesting, and thought others might also.
It's a bit of long read, but worth staying with.
Mike