Comparing power consumption of 12V compressor fridges with modern, efficient 240V fridges. Is 12V worth the price difference? (2 Viewers)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I planned on getting a 12V compressor (specifically a Dometic / Weaco crx50) but now it is time to buy one I am loathed to spend the extortionate amount of money they cost and for something so pathetically tiny compared to a 240V undercounter fridge. I don't understand why 12V should be so expensive, except for the fact that if a manufacture can get away with charging such a lot they will. I don't want to spend £600 on a fridge!

With that in mind I have been doing some research online. I am considering using a 240v fridge. Now, before everyone screams no at me, I'll show you my research and calculations. Then you can scream no at me. ;) :X3:

POWER CONSUMPTION

Russell Hobbs RHUCLF2W 240V (£200)

Consumption = 110 kwh/year

110 X 1,000 = 110,000 w/year

110,000 w / ( hours in a year = 24 hours X 365 days) = 12.55 w/hour

12.55w / 12v = 1.04 amps/hour

1.04 X 24 = 24.96 amps per day.

Factoring in inefficiency of the invertor - 10% for the one I am looking at (Novopal 1000W pure sine wave) = 24.96 amps X 1.1 = 27.46 amps per day.

We also have to consider the invertor on standby, (not running the fridge compressor but still switched on and drawing power). For the Novopal that's 0.6 amps per hour so: 0.6a X 24 hours = 14.4 amps.

Total power: 14.4 + 27.46 = 41.86 amps per day.

Dometic crx50 (£600)

The amps rating given for the Dometic is 1.7 amps / hour.
1.7 X 24 = 40.8 amps per day.

So that's a difference of 1.06 amps a day in power consumption between the Russell Hobbs 240V and the Dometic 12V.

So, the difference isn't as colossal as I thought it would be!

However...